The Girl From The Sea by Shalini Boland

I’m definitely guilty of letting books collect digital dust on my Goodreads “Want to Read” shelf, but The Girl From The Sea was one of those titles that I heard about and read almost immediately.  This is the Goodreads synopsis that drew me in:

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has an idyllic life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks.

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don’t even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

I’m going to use this time as an opportunity to say, please stop exploiting the phrase, “for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train.”  Authors and publishers: be your own Gone Girl/ The Girl On The Train.  You go, girl!  …Sorry, I may have gotten a bit carried away there.  I’m done now.

The Girl From The Sea Star Rating
The Girl From The Sea Star Rating

3 out of 5 stars.  I rarely give 5 because nobody’s perfect, and I couldn’t do 4 because I figured out the ending as I was reading, and that always costs some points when I’m judging (which is always, at least on this blog).

The funny thing is, I thought I had made a mistake in picking this book when I first started reading it.  As intriguing as the concept of this story was, I really couldn’t get into it at first.  Something to do with the narrating, I guess.  I wasn’t feeling it, but I stuck with it because I hate wasting time starting books and not finishing them (I am a pretty slow reader, if you couldn’t tell by now).

The story begins with our main character waking up on the beach after nearly drowning, and from there, she spends about a week in the hospital, with no memory of her life before washing up on the beach.  I guess it was hard for me to get into the book at this point because there was no real character (or plot, for that matter) development yet.

After the main character is identified and leaves the hospital with her boyfriend, though, the story finally starts picking up, as we try to understand what led to her near-death experience and whether or not she’s still in danger.

I’m happy to report this was one of those can’t-put-it-down-til-I-know-what-happens-next books.  And despite the fact that I was able to correctly predict the ending, I still think The Girl From The Sea is a really well-written book with a great plot.  I’d recommend it to anybody who likes a good thriller.

Comment below if you’ve read The Girl From The Sea and tell me what you thought!  Don’t forget to subscribe today to see all of my latest reviews, and join me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads.  Thanks for stopping by today!

Leave a Reply